New fire standards launched in England


Share this content


The Fire Standards Board has launched a new professional standard for fire and rescue services in England, it’s ninth such professional standard.

The Safeguarding Fire Standard aims to ensure that fire and rescue services are doing all that they can to support safeguarding. Its desired outcome is that services work proactively to promote the safeguarding of those within their communities as well as employees and volunteers, reducing the risk of abuse, harm, and neglect.  

The Safeguarding Fire Standard outlines what a fire and rescue service must and should do to achieve the standard.

The standard states that a service must have a designated Safeguarding Lead, and that it should work collaboratively with partners to share learning and experiences to contribute to the continual improvement of safeguarding. Full details of what services need to do to achieve this standard are detailed in the How to Achieve section of the standard.  

Lord Greenhalgh, Fire Minister said: “…Fire and rescue service staff play a vital part in protecting communities and it’s crucial that they use the tools at their disposal to do so.” 

Whilst it is not mandatory for services to comply with the Fire Standards, the National Fire Framework makes clear that services are expected to pay due regard to Fire Standards as will the HMICFRS in their inspections.

The Fire Standards Board are confident that in many cases services are already achieving the outcomes which are the foundation of each Fire Standard. Where they are not, they accept services will need to implement any changes to enable them to achieve the standards in a way that fits with their strategic planning, improvement work and timetable. 

This is the ninth professional Fire Standard and aims to help drive continuous improvement across England’s fire and rescue services. 

The Fire Standards Board published eight standards in 2021. These are on:

  • Emergency response driving,
  • Operational preparedness,
  • Operational competence,
  • Operational learning, and
  • Code of Ethics
  • Community Risk Management Planning
  • Prevention
  • Protection
Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox