Categories: People

Winners announced for IIRSM’s Risk Excellence Awards 2021


Share this content


Educational charity and membership body, IIRSM, is delighted to announce the winners of its Risk Excellence Awards 2021.

COVID-19 has seen the basic concept of risk and safety elevated as something we must take seriously. It has impacted every corner of the world, governments, organisations, the economy, communities and most importantly, individuals.

The submissions this year were exceptional, and given the past 12 months, the initiatives and hard work demonstrated have proved to be more critical than ever.

Entries were submitted from across the globe by individuals and organisations of all sizes from a wide range of industries.     

The winners and highly commended for the ten categories are as follows:

AwardWinners/Highly Commended
The Barry Holt Award for Outstanding Risk PracticeWinner – FCC Environment   Highly Commended – Howdens Joinery
International Risk Initiative of the Year  Winner – Cardiunus Risk Management Highly Commended – Dr Sam De Silva, Partner at International Law Firm CMS Highly Commended – Safe356
The John Bennett Award for Exceptional Young Person of the YearWinner – Chloe Stuttard, LV= Financial Services
Health & Wellbeing Strategy of the Year  Winner – EMCOR UK Wellbeing Team Highly Commended – Construction Industry Federation Safety and Health Sub Committee
SME Risk Initiative of the Year  Winner – Safe365
Mentor of the Year  Winner – Tony Hayward Highly Commended – John Nelson
Technology Risk Management Initiative of the YearWinner – Safe365 Highly Commended – Ardent Hire Solutions  
Change Programme of the YearWinner – Dempsey Wood Civil Ltd Highly Commended – Construction Industry Federation
Risk Team of the YearWinner – BOHS (stands for British Occupational Hygiene Society) Covid-19 Expert Group Highly Commended – Technip Energies Safety Team
President’s CommendationWinners – Karla Gahan, Senior Manager at Barnett Waddingham and; Paul Stokes, Head of Safety, Health, Environment & Quality (SHEQ) at FCC Environment

The Risk Excellence Awards took place online on Thursday 20th May, with hundreds watching from their homes and offices around the world.  Guests were entertained by World and European relay champion Derek Redmond – one of Britain’s most famous athletes, who also hosted the awards.

Andy Hawkes, CEO of Cardinus Risk Management, the awards headline sponsor said “After a challenging year, the risk management profession has really shown what it is capable of. Whether working from home or out and about under COVID-controls, the profession has risen to meet difficult circumstances. We are incredibly proud to support the IIRSM Awards, which continue to showcase the best of the best in risk management.

The judges had a difficult task this year and would like to congratulate everyone as the submissions were of exceptional quality.  Well done to all the winners, finalists, and to all those who submitted. We hope to see you back in 2022.”

IIRSM would like to thank its headline sponsor Cardinus Risk Management, and its supporting and awards sponsors and partners Avetta, Barnett Waddingham, healthcare rm, HSE Recruitment, Sureteam and WSH Asia.

The 2022 awards are open for entries from 1 October 2021 and the awards ceremony will take place again in May 2022. Please visit for more details.

1-ISJ- Winners announced for IIRSM’s Risk Excellence Awards 2021
Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox