Society of Fire Protection Engineers announces newest fellows

SFPE Fellows 2022

Share this content


The Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE), the professional society for fire protection and fire safety engineering, has announced its newest class of Fellows and 2022 award recipients. 

Fellow membership represents the highest professional honor of SFPE and is given to individuals who have amassed significant accomplishments and stature in fire protection engineering.  SFPE members elevated to the status of Fellow in 2022 are:

  • Warren D. Bonisch, PE, FSFPE; Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates
  • Dale C. Hansen, PE, FSFPE; Harrington Group
  • Gavin Horn, PhD, FSFPE; UL Fire Safety Research Institute
  • Peter L. Senez, PEng, FSFPE; Senez Consulting
  • Victoria B. Valentine, PE, FSFPE; American Fire Sprinkler Association
  • Steven D. Wolin, PE, FSFPE; The Reliable Automatic Sprinkler Co.

The SFPE also announced its “5 Under 35” recipients for 2022. Those named represent the industry’s top rising leaders who give back to both the fire protection engineering profession and the community.  The 2022 recipients are:

  • Spence R. Carter, PE; Idaho National Laboratory
  • William A. Clay, PE; Burns & McDonnell
  • Jessica L. Doermann; ARUP
  • Ruggiero Lovreglio, PhD; Massey University
  • Yu Wang, PhD; The State Key Laboratory of Fire Science, China University of Science and Technology

Finally, SFPE is announced nine award recipients:

  • Daniel L. Arnold, PE, FSFPE; Seneca Fire Engineering – recipient of the SFPE John J. Ahern President’s Award
  • Brian W. Ballweg, PE; Hays Company – recipient of the SFPE Hats Off Award
  • Sean S. Donohue, PE, PEng, FSFPE; Jensen Hughes – recipient of the SFPE Harold E. Nelson Service Award
  • Jeffrey L. Harrington, PE, FSFPE; Harrington Group (ret.) – recipient of the SFPE Rolf H. Jensen Award for Outstanding Committee Service
  • Robert Jönsson; Prof. em., FSFPE; SWECO – recipient of the SFPE David A. Lucht Lamp of Knowledge Award
  • Gary Lewis; City of Summit, New Jersey – recipient of the SFPE Fire Protection Person of the Year Award
  • Guo-Qiang Li, PhD; Tongji University – recipient of the SFPE John L. Bryan Mentoring Award
  • Jack Poole, PE, FSFPE; Poole Fire Protection – recipient of the SFPE D. Peter Lund Award
  • Stanis Yu, UL Solutions – recipient of the SFPE Hats Off Award

Commenting on this year’s round of appointments and awards, icole Boston, CAE, Chief Executive Officer, Society of Fire Protection Engineers, said: “Our global community waits in anticipation each year for the announcement of who will be elevated to the status of SFPE Fellow, and – as the most prestigious professional honor bestowed by the Society – Warren, Dale, Gavin, Peter, Victoria, and Steven are most deserving of this highest distinction.

“While our community has many, many talented engineering professionals, these six new Fellows and 14 award recipients represent some of the brightest, most involved, and most impactful engineering professionals.”

The awards will be presented by Beth Tubbs, President, SFPE, during the SFPE Annual Conference & Expo in Detroit, MI, USA, on October 12-14, 2022.

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox