Categories: Breaking News, Events

Finalists Announced for the Women in Fire Safety Awards

Share this content


The Women in Fire Safety Awards has unveiled its line-up of finalists for the upcoming awards ceremony, celebrating women who have made significant contributions to the field of fire safety.

Set to be hosted at the Leonardo Royal Hotel in London on Thursday, 28th September 2023, the event aims to recognise the outstanding achievements of women within the fire safety community.

The awards seek to address the historical gender imbalance in the industry and to spotlight women who have remarkably improved fire safety standards.

Honouring excellence in fire safety

The awards are divided into several categories, reflecting a broad spectrum of achievements. Among the finalists for Woman of the Year are luminaries like Paula Johnston of Luminate Education Group and Mary Freer of Honeywell.

Lifetime Achievement Award finalists include Michelle Agius of Eurotech Fire Systems Ltd and Tracy Kirk of Hochiki Europe, showcasing women who have devoted their lives to enhancing fire safety.

Encouraging the next generation

Co-founded by Chloe Vickery and Kate Blake, both veterans in the industry, the Women in Fire Safety Awards not only honours established professionals but also strives to inspire the next generation.

The Rising Star Award, for instance, has recognised young talents like Michelle Baah of Chubb Fire & Security UK & Ireland and Annie Flores of Hydrock.

Chloe Vickery, with her extensive background in fire safety solutions and risk assessment, and Kate Blake, a dedicated Performance Coach, have both championed the cause of increasing women’s participation in what has historically been a male-dominated field.

A varied and rewarding Industry

The awards also aim to demonstrate the diverse opportunities within the fire safety industry, with categories such as Training Providers of the Year, Administrator of the Year and Diversity Champion.

Among the businesses and individuals who have been recognised in these categories are The Fire Protection Association, Clare Barker, and the Arup Fire Team, respectively.

The shortlists

Woman of the Year

  • Paula Johnston of Luminate Education Group
  • Rachel Dobson of Ashton Fire Limited
  • Catriona Reid of Hoare Lea
  • Lisa Hendricks of Assent Building Control Ltd
  • Mary Freer of Honeywell

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Michelle Agius of Eurotech Fire Systems Ltd
  • Tracy Kirk of Hochiki Europe
  • Joanna Strickland BA (Hons) of CPG UK

International Woman of the Year

  • Marzena Maj
  • Anu┼íka Smotlak
  • Sara Phillips

Rising Star Award

  • Stephanie Price of Fire Safe Global Ltd
  • Mary Button of Delta Fire Engineering Ltd
  • Grete Wilson of Arup
  • Gitana Grudyte of OFR Consultants
  • Rachel Magnanon of Ashton Fire Limited
  • Michelle Baah of Chubb Fire & Security UK & Ireland
  • Annie Flores of Hydrock

Fire Service Award

  • Lola Quinn BSc (Hons)
  • Sophie Morley
  • Jenni Seex

Influencer of the Year

  • Stephanie Rampton MIFSM TIFireE
  • Nicky Venables IRMCert ILMCert MIConstM
  • Helen Buchan

Fire Safety Manager of the Year

  • Laura Smith MSc MIFSM of Gentoo Group
  • Stephanie Lloyd-Foxe MBA MCMI MSc MCIArb of Magna Housing Ltd
  • Sherrie Wheeler

Training Provider of the Year

  • The Fire Protection Association
  • Nullifire
  • Clare Barker

Business Manager of the Year

  • Sophie Mogford-Revess of LGM Products
  • Shila Dharma of Kiwa Fire Safety Compliance
  • Helen Buckley of OFR Consultants

Administrator of the Year

  • Jodi Lovell of Magna Housing Ltd
  • Victoria Paisley of Trigon Fire Safety
  • Michele Buckley of Hydrock
  • Diana Cristin of Orama
  • Gina Isaacs of Hoare Lea
  • Fiona McGregor of Eurotech Fire Systems Ltd
  • Louise Mignano of Network Homes

Recruiter of the Year

  • Lauren Bellini of Mears Group PLC
  • Lauren Cooper of Cento
  • Tina Iacono of Design Fire Consultants

Diversity Champion

  • Lisa Farnell
  • Arup Fire Team
  • Gemma Grant

IFSJ Comment

The Women in Fire Safety Awards ceremony is a landmark event in promoting a more progressive and inclusive fire safety industry.

By honouring those who have led the way and encouraging new entrants, the awards look to pave the path towards a more balanced and enriched field of professionals dedicated to protecting lives and properties from fire hazards.

For more information about the awards or to view the complete list of finalists, visit the official Women in Fire Safety Awards website.

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox