Tags: IWMA

IWMA renames its Young Talent Award in honour of Ragnar Wighus

Share this content


IWMA introduces the ‘Ragnar Wighus Award’

Members of the International Water Mist Association (IWMA) have made the decision to rename the “IWMA Young Talent Award”.

The award is now known as the “Ragnar Wighus Award”. This accolade, as previously, will be awarded to the individual responsible for the best master or Ph.D. thesis relating to water mist.

Ragnar Wighus, who passed away in 2021, served as the IWMA president from 2002 to 2018.

It was then that he handed over the leadership to Are Wendelborg Brandt from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology.

Ragnar Wighus Award 2024 details revealed by IWMA

In 2024, the award will be presented to the author of the standout Ph.D. thesis.

The recipient of this award will be given an opportunity to attend the 23rd International Water Mist Conference.

Here, they will be provided a speaker slot to present their thesis. This event is set to be held in Antwerp, Belgium, on the 18th and 19th of September 2024.

Furthermore, the award comprises a prize of 1,000.00 Euro and a complimentary one-year IWMA membership.

All thesis submissions will undergo evaluation by the IWMA Scientific Council.

This council is currently chaired by Max Lakkonen from IFAB.

Potential candidates need to ensure their applications are submitted by 29th March 2024.

For those interested in the application process, further details have been made available on the IWMA webpage.

A brief look into the history of the IWMA award

This award was first introduced in 2016. Since its inception, five budding scientists have been honoured with this recognition.

Those keen to learn about the previous awardees can find this information on the IWMA webpage.

IFSJ Comment

The renaming of the IWMA Young Talent Award to the “Ragnar Wighus Award” signifies the association’s appreciation and respect for Ragnar Wighus’s contributions.

As IWMA’s president for over a decade, his influence was paramount. By linking the award to his name, the IWMA ensures his legacy continues, inspiring young scientists to excel in their research about water mist technology.

Such recognitions play a pivotal role in fuelling innovation and encouraging in-depth research in the fire and safety sector.

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox