Categories: Featured News, People

National Association of State Fire Marshals elects new leadership

NASFM members picture 2022 - 2

Share this content


The National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM) is in New Orleans celebrated its 32nd annual Fire Prevention and Safety Symposium at which it elected a new leadership structure.

Vermont State Fire Marshal Michael Desrochers was elected President while Maryland State Fire Marshal Brian Geraci was elected Vice President and North Carolina State Fire Marshal Brian Taylor was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

“I’ve been honoured to work with NASFM and serve on its board of directors for the past six years,” Desrochers said. “As President I look forward to further assisting other states by sharing best practices from Vermont, and benefitting from the work of others to improve fire safety here.”

The following additional state fire marshals were elected as executive board members: Doug Nelson from North Dakota, Sean Toomey from New Hampshire, Mike Morgan from Colorado, and Peter Ostroskey from Massachusetts.

Commenting on his appointment to the board, State Fire Marshal Ostroskey said: “I look forward to working with our membership, our Board of Directors, and our new Executive Director during this critical transition to promote fire safety, prevention, and education resources at the state and federal levels.”

Two annual awards given at the conference this year recognized the association’s recently retired executive director and the Maine State Fire Marshal.

Jim Narva received the Olin Green Outstanding Fire Prevention Service Award for devoting 35-plus years to emergency services and fire prevention at the local, state, and federal levels.

NASFM membership comprises the most senior fire officials in the United States with the mission to protect human life, property and the environment from fire and related hazards.

The conference and symposium features educational opportunities for attendees as well as a technology expo, featuring fire safety and property protection industry representatives from across the world. This year’s event kicked off with a keynote address from Deputy US Fire Administrator Tonya Hoover.

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox