Australian Fire Protection Industry Awards finalists for 2024 announced

Share this content


Recognising leaders in the Australian fire protection sector

The finalists for the 2024 Fire Protection Industry Awards have been announced.

This event marks a significant occasion for the Australian fire protection sector, celebrating the dedication and achievements of individuals and companies across various categories.

The awards cover several areas of expertise, including the Barry Lee Technical Excellence Award, sponsored by Wormald Australia, with finalists such as Mike Willson of Willson Consulting and Leigh Gesthuizen of Authentic Consulting Pty Ltd.

Other notable categories include the Innovative Product And Technology Solution Award, with contenders like Honeywell and Siemens.

 The Fire Australia Conference and Awards Gala Dinner will be held in the Event Centre Marquee at The Star Gold Coast. The awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday 8th May.

Highlighting excellence and innovation

The awards aim to acknowledge the commitment, excellence, innovation, and leadership within the fire protection industry.

Categories such as the Young Achiever of the Year Award and the Fire Protection Project of the Year focus on up-and-coming talents and impactful projects.

Finalists include Timothy Stone from All Fired Up Fire Services Pty Ltd and projects like Endfire Engineering Pty Ltd.

Comprehensive list of finalists

The complete list of finalists across the various categories includes:

  • Barry Lee Technical Excellence Award: Mike Willson (Willson Consulting), Leigh Gesthuizen (Authentic Consulting Pty Ltd), Firas Shawash (i-Fire Engineers), Warwick Britton (Wormald), Jason D’Silva (Transport for NSW).
  • Innovative Product And Technology Solution Award: Honeywell, Siemens, Emerald Alarms.
  • Young Achiever Of The Year Award: Timothy Stone (All Fired Up Fire Services Pty Ltd), William Laycock (Contact Group), Daniel Bryant (Civil Fire), Gemma McKenna (Group DLA), Patrick Beikpour (Jensen Hughes).
  • Fire Protection Project Of The Year: Endfire Engineering Pty Ltd, Wormald, Precise Fire.
  • Harry Marryatt Fire Protection Company Of The Year Award: Greyton Australia, All Fired Up Fire Services Pty Ltd, Banhams WA, Civil Fire, Walker Fire Protection Pty Ltd.
  • Ron Coffey Award For Excellence In Bushfire Protection: Catherine Ryland (CR Bushfire), Eldon Bottcher (Eldon Bottcher Architect Pty Ltd), Katherine Harris (Harris Environmental), Mike Scott (Bushfire Prone Planning).

Independent judging panel and acknowledgements

FPA Australia extends its gratitude to the independent judging panel for their support of the awards process, including Chris Orr (Principal Engineer, Orr Partners), Brett Staines (Special Hazards Fire Protection Consultant), Patrick Conway (Conway Consultants), and Glenn Talbot (Managing Director, Verified).

IFSJ Comment

The announcement of the finalists for the 2024 Fire Protection Industry Awards underlines the fire protection industry’s commitment to recognising and honouring excellence, innovation, and leadership.

By highlighting the achievements of these individuals and companies, the awards play a crucial role in setting standards for the industry and encouraging continuous improvement.

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox