Categories: Events
Tags: Awards, FREAs

Fire Resilience Excellence Awards launched to honour top professionals

Share this content


New Fire Resilience Excellence Awards recognise top industry performers

World Excellence Awards, the organisation behind the Outstanding Security Performance Awards (OSPAs), has announced the introduction of the Fire Resilience Excellence Awards (FREAs).

These awards aim to highlight significant achievements in fire safety and resilience, honouring individuals, teams, and organisations excelling in this field across public, private, and third-sector entities.

Celebrating excellence, innovation, and dedication within the UK fire safety sector, the FREAs set a benchmark for outstanding performance in enhancing fire safety measures.

Award criteria and sponsorship

The selection criteria for the FREAs are grounded in comprehensive research into the factors defining exceptional performance in fire safety.

The awards are sponsored by AXA, a leading UK insurance provider, and supported by prominent fire safety and resilience groups including BAFE, BAFSA, FIA, and IFSM.

This collaborative effort underscores the commitment of the fire safety community to recognise and promote high standards within the industry.

Industry reactions

Professor Martin Gill, founder of World Excellence Awards, commented on the significance of the awards: “Being outstanding – as opposed to being ‘average’ or ‘good’ – has important implications.

“It means more organisations are protected, fewer individuals suffer, it is true to say that less people will lose their lives.”

This initiative is seen as a continuation of the ethos that has propelled the OSPAs to international recognition, now present in 48 countries.

Douglas Barnett, Director of Mid-Market and Customer Risk Management at AXA Insurance, also shared his enthusiasm: “We are delighted to support the FREAs.

“We have long admired the ethical principles of the OSPAs on which these are based, and we feel these awards will help showcase all that is good about the work of those involved with Fire and Resilience.”

Award categories and participation

The FREAs will open for entries later in the year, inviting nominations across several categories including Outstanding Leader, Outstanding Team, and Outstanding Product/Innovation, among others.

The awards aim to cover a comprehensive range of roles and contributions to fire safety, ensuring diverse recognition within the sector.

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox