Categories: Featured News, People
Tags: Australia

Eight Rural Fire Service members honoured in Australia Day recognitions

Share this content


Rural Fire Service members receive Australian Fire Service Medal

Eight members of the Rural Fire Service (RFS) have been honoured with the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) as part of the Australia Day Honours.

This recognition is a testament to their unwavering commitment and exemplary service to the community.

The AFSM, established in 1988, acknowledges individuals who have demonstrated distinguished service in Australian fire services.

Commissioner praises dedicated service

Rob Rogers, Commissioner of the RFS, expressed his congratulations to the honoured members, highlighting their significant contributions to protecting the state.

He said: “These eight RFS members have shown diligence and sustained dedication in keeping communities safe.”

He emphasised the importance of acknowledging their collective service of over 350 years, which includes leadership roles, training, mentoring, and skilled response in major fires and emergencies.

Commissioner Rogers also noted the selfless nature of RFS members, stating: “Our members don’t do it for the awards or praise, but it is important that they are recognised for their commitment to help others.

“They, like all our members, are a credit to the Service, and they truly deserve this honour.”

Recipients of the AFSM

The RFS members recognised are:

  • Deputy Captain Roberta (Bobbie) Colbran, Hawkesbury Communications/Grose Wold Rural Fire Brigades (Hawkesbury)
  • Group Captain (Retired) Keith Thomas Driver, Lowanna Rural Fire Brigade (Coffs Coast)
  • Group Captain Michael Gilder, Gummun Rural Fire Brigade (Upper Hunter)
  • Superintendent Paul William Jones (Lake George)
  • Group Captain Barry William Myers, Kariong Rural Fire Brigade (Central Coast)
  • Group Officer George Alfred Nicholson, Grattai Rural Fire Brigade (Cudgegong)
  • Group Captain John Thomas Page, Coaldale Rural Fire Brigade (Clarence Valley)
  • Group Captain Barry Lawrence Richard, Jenolan Caves Rural Fire Brigade (Chifley Lithgow)

Full citations for all recipients are available on the RFS website.

IFSJ Comment

The recognition of eight members of the Rural Fire Service (RFS) in the Australia Day Honours with the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) is a commendable event, highlighting the dedication and service of these individuals to their communities.

This honour serves as a reminder of the crucial role firefighters play in safeguarding lives and properties against the devastating effects of fires.

The commendations received by these RFS members, each with unique and lengthy careers in fire service, underscore the importance of acknowledging the sacrifices and efforts of those who work tirelessly in emergency services.

This recognition not only honours the recipients but also serves as an inspiration for current and future members of fire and emergency services, emphasising the value of commitment, skill, and community service.

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox